828×90 Header Ad

Follow Us

≡ Menu

Ears Wide Open: Birds of a Black Feather

Sibling sparks fly in the music of Birds of a Black Feather, the new Los Angeles quintet built around the sweet/tart vocals of sisters Katie and Sarah Virden. The sisters, along with guitarist Murray Foretich and bassist Adam Arcos, deal in indie blues that ranges from teeth-rattling (“Turn Me On” and “Say What You Mean”) to twangy and affecting (“Freeway”). The band has no formal releases yet – a full-length is in the works – but their early live shows, and something in the way the imperative “Say What You Mean” is delivered, mark them as a band you’ll want to strap on your boots to see.

||| Download: “Say What You Mean”

Photo by Jessy Plume

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment