Stream: New singles from Sofia Bolt, ASHRR and Mr. Little Jeans

Sofia Bolt (Photo by Emily Elhaj)

Included in the onrush of new singles this week: Sample the offerings from Sofia Bolt, ASHRR and Mr. Little Jeans.

SOFIA BOLT, “Mirabelle”

Amélie Rousseaux, the L.A.-based Frenchwoman who releases as Sofia Bolt, earned deserved acclaim for her 2019 album “Waves,” which featured a collaboration with Van Dyke Parks, and her follow-up singles. After working during the pandemic honing her production chops (and working on the soundtrack to Hedi Slimane’s CELINE W2020 collection), she’s back Feb. 4 with a new EP, “Soft Like a Peach.” “Mirabelle” is the second single (following “Secret Memories”). It’s a little slice of indie-rock gold, smoldering all the way through Logan Hone’s nifty saxophone outro. The artist was joined on the EP by Evan Taylor, Sean Cook, Cyrus Gengras, Jesse Quebbeman-Turley, Oliver Hill and Mark Yoshizumi, along with Logan Hone.

ASHRR, “Sunshine Low”

L.A. trio ASHRR continues to update ’80s music in the classiest sort of way. “Sunshine Low” is the follow-up to “Same Way” and “Otherside,” a glossy, unhurried affirmation of devotion that crystallizes a moment. “Certainly there are highs and lows that happen to us all,” the band’s Josh Charles says. “Being able to appreciate the sunshine is so important, because there are times when it’s not there so it is only natural to really want to celebrate it when it appears.”


With today’s release of “Lazy Love,” L.A.-based Norwegian electro-pop artist Monica Birkenes — aka Mr. Little Jeans — has announced that her sophomore album, “Better Days,” will arrive June 3 via Nettwerk Records. It was back in 2014 that she released “Pocketknife,” which featured a memorable collaboration with the Silverlake Conservatory of Music Youth Chorale, as well as her now-famous take on Arcade Fire’s “The Suburbs.” Since then, she’s released a trickle of singles, notably 2021’s “Jump to Fall” and “Paper Vows.” After Birkenes changed producers halfway through the process, the new album was made with a host of collaborators, including Drew McFadden, Leon Jean-Marie, Tim Anderson and Aron Forbes. The video for the single was directed by Tracy Antonopoulos.